Curiosity does not kill the cat


So what if you were never the smartest cookie in the jar?
So what if you’ve been made fun of time and again for asking silly questions that were seen as irrelevant?

Truth is, none of that matters in research.

Chances are there is always someone out there that has thought about the very same things you have thought about, and asked the very same questions you have.

It is the inappropriate, unconventional, seemingly crazy ideas and questions in research that helps push the boundaries of knowledge and progress as a whole.

Not only does it seek to inform action, the manner in which you can relate findings to the larger body of research, the applicability and functionality of findings outside the research community has transcended boundaries and surpassed the expectations of many.

As painful as it has been, the research process has undeniably been extremely liberating; encouraging analytical thought through the exploration of broader implications of research on communities, nations and even the world.

While we have all dreamt about being firemen, princesses or even garbage collectors when we were kids (admit it!), have you ever once thought your curiosity and silly questions could have the potential to change the world and positively influence the lives of others?

I certainly didn’t.

To my fellow researchers,
“Life is not discovery of fate; it is continuous creation of future, through choices of thoughts, feelings and actions in the present.” — Sanjay Sahay

6 thoughts on “Curiosity does not kill the cat”

  1. Hey Caia-reis,

    In my experience, every research question is irrelevant to someone; research should not be limited by a group’s assessment that it is not valuable to them. Research is a tool: you may not use it everyday, but it’s good to have around. And as you’ve suggested, strange research can come in handy at the most unexpected of times. Good luck exploring your own curiosities. 🙂

  2. I agree with you…I completed a double BA in Psychology and Sociology last year. The research I did during my time as a student was probably one of the best experiences I’ve had…and I’m pushing 70. ;o)
    For one class we were required to develop a hypothetical research plan and prepare a grant request. The work I did for that class was an inspiration to me. On a couple of occasions I came up short on a reference that I really wanted. I finally wrote to each of the two (world-renowned) scientists and asked if they’d let me use their research in my hypothetical study. To my surprise, both of them responded immediately and provided me not only what I had asked for, but other studies and papers they thought might be useful to me. That gratifying experience gave me some insight to the world of research…it’s being conducted by dedicated and very human people, just like you and me. Since then I haven’t hesitated to contact those who hold knowledge I wish to tap…so far, I haven’t run into anyone who has responded negatively. You just have to ask!

  3. Some questions are really actually silly! Sometimes they are offered to be funny. They are never offered to be stupid. But whatever, quite often they become significant springboards.

  4. The art of brainstorming thrives through “silly” questions, I had never considered how this is a form of research. I was never afraid to ask questions in school, often that which I knew everyone wanted to ask but remained silent on. There is the path to knowledge and understanding…
    Now I have ideas to apply this to my creative writing! Thankyou CR

Leave a Reply

